WBN 49: Life of Pi

The main reason I wanted to do this challenge was to discover books that the rest of the country loves, that I had never got round to reading. Already I’ve enjoyed Dracula and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and I’m looking forward to finding some more gems. But I have also chosen to reread those books in the list that I have read before, and right now, I feel very glad that I did.

I read Life of Pi first back in 2002, and whilst I could remember the premise, the details were a little hazy. I remember thinking it was okay; a nice story but a bit unbelievable and to be honest, quite boring. This time, from the first page I was completely hooked, and I devoured the whole thing as quickly as I could. It’s enchanting: funny, evocative and, I now realise, too smart for 15 year old me. I didn’t have a chance of really appreciating the prose back in 2002, which despite being used subtly and sparsely, paints rich pictures full of life and vitality.

I won’t tell you any more because this is one of those books where you finish and you just desperately want everyone around you to read it and enjoy it and then talk about it with you. Please, please go read it! Now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, World Book Night challenge

What do you think?

