WBN 21: The Notebook

I know that I’m going to mortally offend whole swathes of the population here, mainly teenage girls, but, I’m sure, a few adults too, BUT… I thought this book was one of the worst written I have ever come across. I borrowed it from the library, and I actually took pictures of a couple of pages so I could still laugh at them after I returned it.

And I had to cringe when the almost 30 year old, engaged, female main character claims to have never slept with anyone, even her fiancée, because she didn’t want to sleep with anyone but her childhood sweetheart who she was only with for one summer and never saw again, then goes on to have a completely incredible transcendental experience with said childhood sweetheart, who of course, is a guy. So he’s slept with loads of girls. I’m not sure that any of this is quite what I would choose to teach the target market of 14 year old girls, exactly.

Having said that, I’m really *not* a book snob. Honestly. I’ve enjoyed a lot of Jodi Picoult and Sophie Kinsella, and I think that if this gets teenage girls interested in reading, then brilliant. Keep churnin’ em out, Mr Sparks. And even if you’re an adult and you enjoy this, then own it! Read whatever you want! I watch far too many cheesy American sitcoms to judge anyone for enjoying literature that isn’t ‘worthy’ or ‘highbrow’ or ‘literary’ enough. Those words don’t even mean very much.

And, the story. It wasn’t terribly believable, and it was a bit contrived, and there wasn’t really a lot in the way of twists and turns, but it is terribly romantic, and it does turn out very nicely in the end. I can’t say I’ll be flocking to pick moreSparksnovels up, and I definitely wouldn’t be letting this anywhere near my top 100, but more power to the massive internet campaign ofSparksfans that did get it in there. At TWENTY-ONE. ABOVE THE HANDMAID’S TALE. AND LITTLE WOMEN. AND TESS OF THE D’URBERVILLES.

But, you know, whatever. Like I said. Totally don’t mind. Not a literary snob. No sirree.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, World Book Night challenge

What do you think?

