WBN 31: We Need To Talk About Kevin

This might seem like an odd thing to say, but after reading Frankenstein I really felt I had to go back to an old favourite to kick myself back into action. And this is the one I picked. Yes, I know it’s about a high school massacre, yes, I know, it’s so depressing, yes, I know, it’s a bit pretentious, even. But I love it. I think I just find Eva, the main character, really identifiable. She over analyses things to a painful point, like me. She loves to travel, like me, and she’s a huge over achiever, just like I wish I was! It’s uncanny.

I think this book speaks about something really important. Despite the many, many people who are making a conscious decision not to have children now, it’s still considered to be the norm that a couple will fall in love, get married, and after a year, maybe two, pop out a couple of kids. And it will be wonderful, perfect, completely idyllic, really. You’ll probably just about die of happiness. I really like the way this book says, hang on, that’s not actually right for everyone.

The main thrust of the story is the nature vs nurture debate. Does Kevin kill his fellow students because he was born evil, or was he not raised right? But the interesting journey is not Kevin’s, from conception to birth through to the massacre, but Eva’s. Her narrative may not be reliable and she may be writing with good old 20/20 hindsight, but she tells a remarkable tale, and describes some chilling scenes that stay with you for good.

People are always telling me they wouldn’t recommend it to someone who is about to have/has just had a baby. Personally, I say that’s tosh, it’s fiction, but I suppose those baby hormones I hear so much about might be messing you up a bit. So, proceed with caution, babymakers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, World Book Night challenge

What do you think?

