WBN 98: Alias Grace

I’m steadily working my way through the nation’s 100 favourite books according to World Book Night’s poll in 2011. Find out more about this challenge and check my progress here.

One of my favourite Atwood novels, Alias Grace is based on the true story of one of Canada’s most infamous alleged murderers. I always used to think I didn’t like historical fiction, for some reason. I couldn’t imagine what value there would be in writing or reading a rehash of events, bound by the facts and restricted by history. This is one of the books that changed my mind. Yes, of course a writer of historical fiction has to stick to the facts, but how many facts are actually established? Atwood dances in and out of the testimony and the records, casting doubt on some, sticking to others and ripping a few to shreds. Of course, what Atwood has come up with may not be anything like what happened, but isn’t it tempting to believe it? Doesn’t it feel good to be presented with a convincing account of events, and be able to say: yes, yes that’s what happened?

As always with Atwood, there’s a fascinating character at the centre of everything in the form of Grace Marks. Imprisoned for the murder of her master and his mistress, Grace is being interviewed by a doctor to try to retrieve the memories, apparently lost, of the crucial day when the murder occurred. Grace is undeniably a relatable, sympathetic character, and her story made me just want to give her a hug, really. But, I regularly had to remind myself that I only had her word for anything that went on. After a couple of re-reads of Alias Grace, I can’t honestly say to what extent anything might have been true, but I want to believe everything.

In other news…

Do you compulsively check your phone? I do! Help yourself resist by heading to tap.unicefusa.org before you put down your mobile. For every ten minutes that you don’t touch your phone, UNICEF’s sponsors help them provide clean water for a child for one day. I popped it on whilst writing this blog post and now I’ve helped donate 3 days of clean water, as well as staying focussed on the job at hand!

I love the sound of the meat and spirit events that Rare Leeds are running. Here are Amy Elizabeth and The Awkward Magazine‘s writeups of the Beef and Bourbon night (check out the beef dessert!), and I’ll be hoping for a repeat of the gin and chicken night.

I’m working on a post about my experiences now I’m approaching the halfway point of the #100happydays challenge. See my happy pictures on instagram.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, World Book Night challenge

2 responses to “WBN 98: Alias Grace

  1. Amy

    Thanks for the shout out! 🙂

    I’ve never really read much Margaret Atwood, which is shocking really. I read The Blind Assassin in a class at Uni and I didn’t really warm to it (although that could have been a product of having to read three novels a week!). I’ve always been keen to try The Handmaid’s Tale and looks like I should put Alias Grace on my list as well!

    • Actually I never got into The Blind Assassin either, but I love everything else of hers. Maybe it’s a bad one to start with as I think it might have been the first of hers that I tried to read x

What do you think?

