Twisted Burger Company at Aire Bar

Unless you’ve been under a rock for the last couple of weeks, you’re probably aware of the Twisted Burger Company residency that’s just started at Aire Bar. TBC hail from Sheffield, where they’ve been churning out burgers at The Harley for over three years. It’s great to see a Yorkshire brand doing well, and as far as I can tell these guys deserve their success.

Although I couldn’t make the official launch, I decided to pop in on opening night to check things out the old-fashioned way. The sun was shining, we nabbed a seat on the deck, the burgers were half price – it seemed like everything was in our favour.

I’ve never been to Aire Bar, and although I knew where it was it’s not a place I’ve ever even thought about going. It’s a bit out of the way of my usual haunts and I’ve never really heard anyone say much about it. I’m glad I had a reason to go now! It’s got a great atmosphere and was full of professionals grabbing a post-work beverage. The deck was perfect for a sunny day, and even though the Leeds river bank isn’t always the prettiest place, it wasn’t a bad view at all and I enjoyed having five peaceful minutes before my date arrived.

I was a bit sceptical about how the service would be, after some recent poor experiences at hipster pop-ups, but these guys knew what they were doing. Despite the opening night crowds, there were no nerves and we got our grub in about fifteen minutes.

There’s plenty of choice in the menu, including a patty made from bacon, a fearsome looking triple burger, and some tempting sides such as jalapeno poppers, mac ‘n’ cheese or loaded fries.

I plumped for the Smokin’ Joe Frazier, boasting two chicken patties, bacon, cheese, homemade ranch dressing and relish. I asked for sauces on the side, as I’m picky about ranch and I thought the relish might be a bit too hot for me. I should have been more trusting of the chef, because I would do pretty much anything to get my hands on that ranch recipe. It was garlicky and tangy, with quite a thin consistency – not too oily or creamy. I seriously could not get enough of the stuff and whatever I ordered in the future, I’d have that on the side. I will not forget that ranch dressing!

The chicken patties – apparently made from 90% thigh meat and 10% chicken livers – were a bit new to me! They weren’t quite as nice as a really good chicken breast can be, but it made a nice change from the dry, overcooked chicken breasts that inferior places seem to think are worth charging a tenner for.

Overall it was a good burger, moist but not too sloppy, really filling, and served with wickedly moreish crispy French fries. The offbeat, casual vibe makes Twisted perfect for a post-work bite with friends and beers and sunshine.

If you’re following Twisted Burger on any of their social media (such as their twitter, which is here), your burger is half price until 20th April, so why not give it a try?

photo 1 (10) photo 2 (12) photo 3 (9) photo 4 (9) photo 3 (10) photo 2 (13) photo 5 (8)

In other news…

Here’s my other half’s review of the same meal over at The Indie Chef

This blog on The Culture Vulture about having fun with our city is a thought-provoking read

Some of these mini desserts look better than others, but on the whole the list makes me want to throw a dessert tapas party

DO NOT MISS Amazing Graze this weekend. See my review of the last Amazing Graze event here

1 Comment

Filed under Bars, Food & Drink, Restaurants

One response to “Twisted Burger Company at Aire Bar

What do you think?

