30by30: Walt Disney World, Florida

Maybe it was a bit of a cheat, putting this on my 30by30 list, because it was already fully booked (although not quite paid for!) when I wrote my list. But I had a little feeling it might be a highlight of my pre-30 years, and I was right!

Part of the reason I enjoyed it so much might have been because Ant and I were in serious need of some time together. Ant had had some big work projects on and my nights off had been few and far between – in fact, I was working right up until midnight the night before our  5.45 am start to the airport. This meant it wasn’t until I cracked open my first G&T on the train (yes, at 7am – I’m a NERVOUS FLIER, okay?) that the holiday feeling really kicked in.

That feeling didn’t leave me once for the entire two weeks. I’ve never had a holiday where I felt so completely cut off from home, from household bills and work worries and changing the cat litter and putting out the bins on a Thursday night and remembering to lock the side door before we go to bed.

The whole entire stay was just magical. I knew I would love it, but honestly, you should have seen me grinning like an idiot and waving at the characters in the parades. You know, the underpaid actors in well-used Mickey Mouse costumes? Yeah, those guys took me right back to being six years old.

We just had the best time. We held hands at the fireworks, we talked for hours over amazing food, we giggled at Mr Incredible’s dance moves, we screamed on Expedition Everest, we made plans under a sky full of stars and we promised ourselves we’d come back some day.

IMG_0044

IMG_0072

IMG_0077

IMG_0062

IMG_0083

IMG_0144 IMG_0160 IMG_0137 IMG_0101 IMG_0111 (1) IMG_0543 IMG_0435 IMG_0431 IMG_0398 IMG_0214 IMG_0566 IMG_0650 IMG_0588 IMG_0645 IMG_0598 IMG_0606 (1) IMG_0641 (1) IMG_0676

2 Comments

Filed under 30by30, Life, Places

2 responses to “30by30: Walt Disney World, Florida

  1. Yay! Disney themed towel art!! My favourite travel thing. I have photos of towel art from all over, but nothing has ever beaten the Cubans. Looks like a great trip.

What do you think?

