WBN 60: Watership Down

I’m steadily working my way through the nation’s 100 favourite books according to World Book Night’s poll in 2011. Find out more about this challenge and check my progress here.

I don’t feel like I have that much to say about Watership Down, and actually I’m quite surprised it’s on this list, and by so comfortable a margin, too. It’s definitely a brilliant children’s book, but it seems quite old fashioned in a very dated way. It didn’t seem to me like the kind of book a child could fall in love with, then keep reading again and again as they grew up. Obviously, though, I’m wrong!

If you don’t know, Watership Down is the story of a group of rabbits that flee their warren after young rabbit Fiver has a vision that something bad will happen there. He can only persuade his brother, Hazel and a few other rabbits to go with him on a journey toward a distant, possibly imaginary meadow that Fiver insists will be their future home.

Despite their lapine status, the characters are all classic for children’s literature of that era: the small, clever one, the plucky, adventurous one, the strong but dim one. They certainly have their appeal, but I don’t think Anne of Green Gables, the March girls or the Famous Five will be moving over to make room on my shelf for this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, World Book Night challenge

What do you think?

